Skip navigation

Harlan Howard wrote many of Buck Owens’ biggest hits and best songs, including “I’ve Got A Tiger By the Tail,” “Above and Beyond,” “Excuse Me (I Think I’ve Got A Heartache),” and “Under the Influence of Love,” so it’s only natural that Buck recorded an entire album of Howard’s material. And it’s also not surprising that it’s a stunner, too. Owens sang Howard better than nearly anybody and Buck Owens Sings Harlan Howard is full of wonderful songs and performances. Only “Foolin’ Around” is regularly featured on Buck’s hit compilations, which means there’s a wealth of lesser-known gems — including “Heartaches By the Number,” “Pick Me Up on Your Way Down,” “Keys in the Mailbox” and “Let’s Agree to Disagree” — that form the core of this record, one of Owens’ most enjoyable LPs of the ’60s.

It took the Sundazed label a while to reissue this one on CD. They did the Buck Owens Capitol catalog back in the 1990s and did a stellar job, but this one they waited on. Perhaps it was best. In 2003 there were far more people interested in country gospel again. But this is no ordinary country gospel album. This isn’t the Carters or the Louvins. This is honky tonk country gospel done Bakersfield style. Owens toned down his Buckaroos approach not a bit to record this. If anything, in listening to the opener, “Pray Every Day,” or “When Jesus Calls All His Children In” or “Bring It to Jesus” or the rollicking “Would You Be Ready,” the slippery guitar and pedal steel-heavy arrangements make this record feel more like a late-night barroom drinking and dancing set than something to be played for church. And that makes perfect sense. Didn’t Jesus come to call sinners and not the righteous? What better way than to have the careening sound of the Buckaroos as a soundtrack for salvation? Dust on Mother’s Bible is one of the great Buckaroos albums and once again displays Owens’ singular place in the pantheon of country music.

-Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Thom Jurek, allmusic.com

DOWNLOAD:
BUCK OWENS SINGS HARLAN HOWARD (1961)
DUST ON MOTHER’S BIBLE (1966)
256/320kbps

2 Comments

  1. I've enjoyed these last few posts, and I thought I'd return the favor by giving you something I have found oddly entertaining and certainly compelling.The soundtrack for Texas Chainsaw Massacre, released in 1974, is an experience of tribal noise. I don't think an official soundtrack was released, but there are soundtrack boots circulating, one of which I'm linking to here. Since you've given me such great music (as well as helped me to save time in digging out my vinyl to convert to digital), I thought I'd return the favor. Enjoy!http://s0undtracks-0f-ghouli3s.blogspot.com/2007/08/texas-chainsaw-massacre-1974-tobe.html

  2. I am familiar with the TCM score, it's great. Actually was fairly certain I had uploaded it, but I guess not.I was listening to John Carpenter's CHRISTINE score as I saw this comment. Maybe I'll do a couple horror scores.


Leave a Reply

