Skip navigation

A re-up, since it was announced yesterday that the original Beatles albums were finally being remastered, with mono editions. While this is pretty cool, I’m kind of skeptical of the likelihood that they won’t be completely brickwalled loudness war versions. -Ian!

It’s kind of hard to explain these to the layman, but here goes:

The Beatles albums were only mastered officially for CD one time, in 1987. They did a very bad job. All the Beatles albums from the beginning up until like ABBEY ROAD were made for MONO, not STEREO. STEREO versions are FAKE STEREO, they just separate the treble instruments to one ear, the bass instruments to the other, and it destroys the mix. It’s some 80s engineering goon’s version of stereo.

DR EBBETTS is a bootlegger, and what he did here is buy ORIGINAL BEATLES VINYL IN MONO, first pressings, and recorded them with audiophile equipment. What you’re hearing with these is how the Beatles albums were meant to sound when you bought them in the ’60s.

Don’t take my word for it, put on TAXMAN from your official cd version (with the bass drums on one side, guitar/vox on the other) and then play TAXMAN from the JAPANESE MONO RED WAX, and tell me which one sounds better.

Here are some of them, I will up others later. At the very least, if you’re skeptical, do a comparison listening test.

DOWNLOAD:
A HARD DAY’S NIGHT (1964)
BEATLES FOR SALE (1964)
HELP! (1965)
RUBBER SOUL (1965)
REVOLVER (1966)
SGT PEPPER’S LONELY HEARTS CLUB BAND (1967)
MAGICAL MYSTERY TOUR (1967)
THE BEATLES (WHITE ALBUM) (1968)
U.S. SINGLES COLLECTION 1-3
320kbps

4 Comments

  1. MANY thanks!! Look forward to the rest…

  2. Hello. I just came across your blog (don't know why it took me so long) & I'm really impressed. I've gone thru your archives & found a lot of stuff I want to check out. I had to put that stuff on hold when I came across the Dr. Ebbetts Beatles vinyl rips. I did the sound test & it really shows how much the official releases suck. Now I'll be waiting for you to tell me if the new remasters are any better. Thanks again for your great blog & all your time & work.

  3. Can't wait for you to post the others. I've never heard these albums or the singles in straight mono before. I like it! they're more aggressive. Thanks for doing this!

  4. To be honest, you're better off now with the new mono box set. It sounds better than these do.I'm still going to leave them up as a historical thing I guess, but I'm not going to bother uploading any more of the Ebbetts Beatles needledrops.


Leave a Reply

